Hotel Château
Le Sallay
13 апреля, «Марабу», дети

The hotel is located in a 15th century castle in western Burgundy near the city of Nevers. It is easily accessible from Paris by train or car.
The Château Le Sallay hosts weddings, seminars, retreats and workshops. We also always welcome private guests.
The hotel has 16 rooms, a restaurant and several halls of different sizes for various events – from gala dinners for 200 people to business meetings.
The castle is surrounded by 4 hectares of parkland for guests to enjoy, with ancient trees, secluded corners, a stream, an outdoor pool and cosy hammocks.

Rooms

We offer rooms to suit every taste: luxurious suites (40 m²), small comfortable rooms for two, separate houses for guests with disabilities or with children, as well as rooms in a separate small guest house next to the castle.

Read more about the accommodation options in the Rooms section.

History

To the south of Nevers, in the depths of the valley, stands the ancient castle of Sallay. This Renaissance building is not large but fascinating to everyone interested in history or art, and a great example of early 16th century architecture.


Its elegant tower, its neatly modillioned cornice and its pitched roof with stone gables attract particular attention. The surrounding moat, which once served as a defensive structure, has long been filled with earth.

To the right of the building’s front elevation, you’ll find a chapel. Built in 1508, its massive-ribbed arch is crowned by a decorative capstone bearing a Christogram.

Historically, the original château Le Sallay was granted to feudal lords who answered directly to the king.

The names of its first owners are lost in the depths of centuries. The first written references appear only at the beginning of the 15th century. At that time, the castle belonged to the count Pierre de la Motte and his wife Jeanne de Thale. In late 15th century, it passed to the Le Tort family. From this point on, we can restore the full chronology of the lords owning the château. Guillaume Le Tort shared the property. In 1484, Jean Barbier along with his brother (a Nevers priest) and his sister Denise also became seigneurs de Sallay. Thus, the castle and the land had several owners at once. Later, the castle changed hands due to inheritance and sale.

The Le Tort coat of arms consisted of a golden spike on a blue background, with two silver crescents on either side and a golden star at the base.

Centuries went by, and the times and the château’s ownership kept changing – until the fully restored Le Sallay castle was turned into a cosy four-star hotel.

In 2017, the castle was acquired by the writer Sergey Kuznetsov and his wife Ekaterina Kadieva, a psychologist. The couple, who were living in Paris, have dedicated themselves completely to their new home, taking care of the garden and paths and undertaking repairs in different parts of the building. They are always happy to welcome guests. Sergey and Ekaterina follow the spirit as well as the letter of the law on the restoration and preservation of historicbuildings of France. In maintaining the château and running the household, they use sustainable materials and environmentally friendly products wherever possible. For decoration purposes, they spend weekends at antiques markets in Burgundy and Paris, to source authenticity in every little detail. Every guest can feel how tenderly the new owners care for the castle.

What they seek to create in and around the château is not only comfort and beauty but also an atmosphere of hedonism. Located deep in the countryside, away from the noise of cities and large roads, Le Sallay is set in an old park occupying 4 hectares. The castle contains a large living room with a fireplace; sun loungers and hammocks are dotted around the gardens. Château le Sallay is the perfect place for a secluded vacation, be it for a couple, a family or a group of friends.

The château is also perfect for celebrations, especially weddings. The 16 cosy rooms can accommodate more than 50 guests, and the banquet room can seat over 250.

Weddings

For several years, Château Le Sallay has been hosting weddings and other events, from cosy celebrations for several dozen people to magnificent parties for many guests. 

We cooperate with wedding agencies but are also ready to take over the entire organisation of your celebration, from assistance in obtaining visas to organising the ceremony, the decorations and the menu.

Workshops and other educational programmes

Château Le Sallay has been the venue for various events – cooking classes, a series of children’s educational camps called “Marabou”, art studios, as well as seminars organised by large companies for their clients and employees.
Would you like to organise a yoga retreat, a gastronomic tour, a theatre or art school field trip? We are open to your suggestions!

We are also happy to cater to all gastronomic wishes – from a vegan menu to exquisite high-class dining, as well as halal or kosher food. We also pay attention to food allergies and any other dietary preferences notified by our guests.

Mix and match: the DIY perfect holiday

You’d love to spend a few days in a small castle in the heart of France, but you don’t know what to do there? You are afraid of being bored, but dislike organised recreation?

Book your dates in advance!

We’ll offer you a mix-and-match treasure trove of events, from which you can assemble a programme to your taste!

1

A typical French celebration: a cocktail in the park, a gala dinner, and on the next day, a late breakfast followed by a special lunch. That is how the French celebrate weddings and anniversaries.

2

A party in the park for adults and children: hammocks and clowns in the afternoon, candles and music at night.

3

Excursions to wineries and neighbouring farms: wine tasting in Sancerre and Pouilly-Fumé; a trip along the famous Burgundy wine road; cheeses and foie gras; the famous Charolais cows; meetings with farmers and winemakers.

4

All kinds of children’s programmes developed by the creators of the famous “Marabou” smart camps – from workshops and lectures to role-playing games and quests.

5

The unique water mills of Nevers, with their leather straps, turning wheels and aroma of walnut oil. And no electricity – for centuries, everything worked just by the power of water! It all feels as if you were in a Miyazaki cartoon.

6

Trips with the best guides; ten exciting cities to choose from: from nearby Moulins and Bourges (listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site thanks to the unique stained-glass windows in its cathedral) to the slightly more distant Loire Valley castles, and the ancient towns of Mâcon and Auxerre.

7

The famous Formula 1 track in the nearby town of Magny-Cours (5 km from the castle): you can visit the races, have a drive yourself, or see inspect a parade of unique vintage cars.

Things to do in the area

Traveling deep into any country creates a sense of discovery. When you come to Burgundy, you can expect a rich store of historical, artistic and architectural wonders. The city of Nevers, not to be missed, stands on the banks of the Loire and is famous for its ancient Gothic cathedral, the ducal palace and other attractions. Of course, you will also find cosy restaurants, markets and shops in Nevers. You will certainly not be bored: you can canoe on the River Loire, bike, hike or ride in the countryside and even parachute or fly in a balloon! The town closest to the castle, Magny-Cours, hosts a famous motor racing track. And if Formula 1 is not your thing, then why not go on a wine tasting tour through the local farms and wineries? What better place for oenology than Burgundy?

The château is right in the heart of France. Less than an hour away from Le Sallay, you’ll find the cities of Bourges and Moulins, as well as the unique nature reserve Morvan Regional Natural Park. Such famous places as the Loire Valley, Lyon, Mâcon and many other beautiful cities, towns and villages are one-and-a-half to two hours away.

You can read more in the section “The surroundings”.

Welcome
to Château Le Sallay!

Spend time with pleasure!

Hôtel Château
Le Sallay

L’hôtel se situe dans un château du XVIe siècle, en Bourgogne occidentale à coté de la ville de Nevers. Il est très simple d’y arriver depuis Paris en train ou en voiture.
Le Château Le Sallay organise des mariages, des séminaires, des retraites, des master-classes ainsi que des particuliers que nous sommes ravis de recevoir.
L’hôtel dispose de 16 chambres, d’un restaurant, de plusieurs salles de différentes tailles pour divers évènements allant du dîner de gala pour 200 personnes aux réunions de conseils d’administration des entreprises.
Le Château est entouré d’un parc de 4 hectares, d’arbres centenaires, des coins retirés, un ruisseau, une piscine ouverte, des hamacs – tout est à votre disposition.

Chambres

Nous proposons à nos clients des chambres pour tous les goûts : des suites luxueuses (40 m2), des petites chambres confortables pour deux, une maison indépendante pour les personnes handicapées ou avec des enfants ainsi que des chambres dans une petite maison indépendante à coté du Château.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur nos hébergements dans la rubrique Chambres.

Histoire

Au Sud de Nevers au fond de la vallée se dresse l’ancien Château Le Sallay. Cette bâtisse de la Renaissance n’est pas de grande taille mais son histoire a un grand intérêt pour les historiens : le Château est un exemple assez détaillé de l’architecture du début du XVIème siècle.

Sa tour élégante attire particulièrement l’attention, sa corniche avec des médaillons faits avec une grande maitrise et le toit à pente avec des frontons et finissions en pierre. Le fossé au tour du château qui servait autrefois à la défense des lieux fût rempli d’eau il y a bien longtemps.

A droite de la partie principale de la bâtisse se trouve la chapelle construite en 1508. Sa voûte, formée de nervures massives est couronnée par la pierre ornée du monogramme du Christ.

Le Сhâteau Le Sallay était le domaine de seigneurs subordonnés directement au Roi.

Les noms des premiers propriétaires se sont perdus dans le temps. Les premières mentions remontent au début du XVème siècle : à ce moment-là les propriétaires étaient le noble Pierre de la Motte et son épouse Jeanne de Tallé. Vers la fin du XVème siècle le Château est devenu la propriété de la famille Le Tor et à partir de ce moment nous pouvons rétablir la chronologie complète des seigneurs-propriétaires du Château. Guillaume Le Thor n’était pas le seul propriétaire de la forteresse : en 1484 Jean Barbier et son frère, le prêtre de Nevers et leur sœur Denise ont obtenu le statut des seigneurs du Sallay. Plus tard le château passe en d’autres mains par la voie d’héritages et de ventes de la propriété.

Les armes de la famille le Thor ressemblait à ceci : Sur le fond bleu il etait déssinée unepointe dorée de deux cotés – deux demi-lunes argentés et à la base – une étoile dorée.

Les siècles, les années passaient, la vie autour changeait et voilà devant nous le Château Le Sallay restauré et converti en un confortable hôtel 4 étoiles.

En 2017 le château a été acheté par l’écrivain Sergey Kuznetsov et sa femme, la psychologue Ekaterina Kadieva qui habitent à Paris. Les nouveaux propriétaires se sont engagés dans de nombreux travaux, ont aménagé le jardin et les chemins, ont réparé différentes parties du château et continuent à recevoir les clients. Sergey et Ekaterina respectent de manière très stricte la législation française concernant la restauration et la conservation du patrimoine historique français. Pour les besoins de travaux ils acquièrent des matériaux écologiques et pour le décor ils sont assidus des brocantes parisiennes et bourguignonnes, faisant attention à ce que chaque détail soit le plus authentique possible. Le château est habité par ses nouveaux propriétaires avec un grand amour et tous les clients le ressentent fortement.

Les propriétaires prêtent un attention particulière non seulement au confort et à la beauté des lieux extérieurs comme intérieurs mais aussi à l’atmosphère qui s’en dégage. Le Château Le Sallay se trouve à la campagne, loin du bruit de grandes villes et autoroutes, il est entouré du vieux parc qui occupe 4 hectares. Dans le château il y a un grand salon avec une cheminée, dans le jardin se trouvent des hamacs et chaises longues un peu partout.

Le château convient parfaitement pour l’organisation des réceptions, surtout on y organise souvent des mariages. Les 16 chambres tout confort peuvent accueillir plus de 50 invités, la salle de réception peut recevoir plus de 250 convives.

Les mariages

Depuis plusieurs années le Château Le Sallay accueille les mariages et autres fêtes. Nous sommes ouverts tant pour les petits mariages de quelques dizaines de personnes que pour les grandes fêtes avec un grand nombre d’invités.

Nous travaillons avec des agences de mariages mais aussi nous pouvons nous charger de toute l’organisation de votre fête : de l’aide pour l’obtention des visas à l’organisation des cérémonies, la décoration de la salle et l’élaboration des menus.

Master-class et autres programmes éducatifs

Le Château Le Sallay est depuis plusieurs années le lieu d’accueil de différents évènements : master-class culinaires, camps éducatifs pour enfants, ateliers artistiques, séminaires organisés par de grandes entreprises pour ses clients ou collaborateurs.

Si vous souhaitez organiser une yoga-retraite, un trou gastronomique, un cours d’atelier théâtral ou artistique nous sommes à votre disposition!

Nous sommes à l’écoute de toutes vos envies gastronomiques – du menu vegan au dîner fin et gastronomique ainsi que hallal, casher, allergies alimentaires des clients ainsi que n’importe quelle autre particularité nutritive.

Construis ta fête

Vous aimeriez passer quelques jours avec vos amis dans un petit château au cœur de la France mais vous ne savez pas quoi y faire ? Vous craignez de vous ennuyer et vous n’aimez pas les vacances organisées ?

Réservez vos dates en avance!

Nous sommes prêts à vous proposer des pièces qui vous serviront pour construire un programme selon votre goût.

1

Une fête typique à la française: vin d’honneur dans le jardin, un diner de gala, un petit-déjeuner tardif et un brunch à midi.

2

Une fête joyeuse pour adultes et enfants dans le parc : les clowns et les hamacs dans la journée et la musique et les bougies le soir.

3

Visites de vignobles et des fermes voisines, dégustations de vins : Sancerre et Pouilly fumé, visite de la célèbre route des vins bourguignons, les fromages et le foie-gras, les fameuses vaches charolaises et les rencontres avec les fermiers et les vig

4

Tout type de programmes éducatifs pour enfants de la part des créateurs de Marabout – des master-class et conférences aux jeux de rôle et kwests.

5

Les moulins à eau unique de Nevers : comme si vous vous trouviez dans les dessins animés de Miadziaki : les ceintures en cuir, les roues tournantes, l’huile de noix. Et aucune électricité : depuis plus de 100 ans tout fonctionne uniquement grâce à la force de l’eau.

6

Visites guidées avec les meilleurs guides de la région d’une dizaine de villes au choix : des plus proches comme Bourges (dans le liste du patrimoine de UNESCO grâce aux vitraux de sa cathédrale) et Moulin aux plus éloignée dans la vallée de la Loire telle Macon ou encore Auxerre.

7

Le célèbre circuit de Formule 1 de Magny-Cour (à 5 km du Château): vous pouvez visiter les courses, courir vous même ou voir le défilé de voitures anciennes uniques.

Que faire autour?

Les voyages dans le cœur d’un nouveau pays sont toujours une découverte. Et quand il s’agit de la Bourgogne, nous avons ici un puits inépuisable de curiosités historiques, artistiques et architecturales. La ville de Nevers, un arrêt incontournable pour chaque visiteur, se situe au bord de la Loire et est connue pour sa cathédrale gothique, le palais ducal et autres choses à connaître. Il va de soit qu’à Nevers vous trouverez des restaurants accueillants, des marchés et de petites boutiques intéressantes. En tout cas vous n’aurez pas le loisir de vous ennuyer: rafting sur la Loire en canoë, promenade à vélo, à cheval et à pied à la campagne et même les sauts en parachute et voyage en montgolfière! La ville la plus proche du château, Magny-Cour abrite le circuit de Formule 1. Mais si vous n’êtes pas intéressé par la Formule 1 vous pouvez faire un tour de dégustation en parcourant les vignobles et les fermes autour du château. Où goûter du bon vin si ce n’est pas en Bourgogne?

Le Château est situé en plein centre de la France. A moins d’une heure de route de Le Sallay vous trouverez les villes de Bourges et Moulin, le parc national exceptionnel du Morvan et à une heure et demie - deux heures les célèbres lieux tels que Vallée de la Loire, Lyon, Macon et beaucoup d’autres villes.

Vous pouvez trouver plus de détails dans la rubrique Que faire autour?

Venez
au Сhâteau Le Sallay!

Passez-y le temps avec plaisir!